Everything, everything (Movie Review)

“I feel like an astronaut, stranded in space.”

Screen Shot 2017-08-07 at 12.14.06 am.png

(DISCLAIMER: The opinions here are my own and may contain spoilers to the movie)

Rating: 5/10

So I just checked out the movie Everything, everything, which I knew it was an adaptation from a popular YA novel which I didn’t read. For my review I will divide it into 3 sections, story,technical aspects and my thoughts.

A little about me, I have a Diploma in Digital Film and Television and enjoy watching films and movies for fun. I hope you like this review!

Screen Shot 2017-08-07 at 12.16.03 am.png

  • So Maddy has lived her entire life inside the house where it is safe for her
  • It kind of feels like how Mother Gothel treats Rapunzel in Tangled
  • The development of the storyline was good, clear act 1 all the way to act 3 and hitting the important points in between like the inciting incident and climax of the story

Screen Shot 2017-08-07 at 12.19.04 am.png

  • The lighting in the film was really good, the natural lighting made the film look really dream like and beautiful
  • The shots in the movie are really light and nice
  • The music was really on point (For example, the song “stay” by Alessia Cara & Zedd was nicely edited to with the footage of their car travelling)

Screen Shot 2017-08-07 at 12.21.36 am.png

  • By being creative, they decided to make the text conversations into live scenes which was really cool
  • The budding romance was really cute
  • OMG, the scene where Olly pastes a ton of pictures of the ocean against Maddy’s glass window was so beautiful and had a note that made my heart melt
  • I felt that her mum was really over-protective ever since her husband and son passed away because she didn’t want to lose Maddy either (I guessed it and found out that was the case)
  • The scene where Maddy and Olly dived into the water showed how they overcame the fear of the unknown
  • Maddy also overcame her fear of stepping out of her house, symbolising it as she takes a gigantic leap of faith into the waters below
  • At the climax of the entire story, she finds out that she doesn’t have SCID, and never had it at all. But because she was kept at home so long, her immune system couldn’t build up properly
  • This movie was heart-breaking yet enriching.

 

Have you watched this movie? What did you think and feel about this movie? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Everything, everything (Movie Review)

  1. delphinethebabbler says:

    I just finished reading the book and I absolutely adored the romance between Maddy and Olly. I’d definitely looking forward to watching the movie adaptation soon!
    Awesome post by the way – super perceptive. Happy Blogging – I look forward to more of your posts in the future. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

