Books and music book tag!

Hello, I’m finally doing another book tag since I suddenly started googling it today😂

I saw this book tag on chellesbookramblings.wordpress.com (do check her out!) but the original book tag was created by Debbie at debbieslibrary.wordpress.com (Do check her out too!)

I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but wanted to give it a shot since, who doesn’t love music?

I enjoy pop music and some of my favourite artistes are, Demi Lovato, Simple Plan, well anything that has a good tune

Here are the rules:

  • Tag the creator of this tag and the one who tagged you
  • Pick 5 songs (or more) that you just have to listen whenever they are played
  • Pick the books/characters you think fit that song the best, and explain why you pick this book/character for this song
  • Tag some friends!
  1. Mama by Jonas Blue ft. William Singe
  • This song definitely reminded me of Geekerella by Ashley Poston which I just recently read. The protagonist, Danielle (or better known as Elle), desperately needs to escape her horrible life with her stepmother and her step sisters and her perfect escape is into the world of Star Field.
  • This song talks about escaping troubles and just living life in the now, without a care in the world
  • When Danielle meets Darien, he is her perfect escape as he understands her pain and everything

2. Sorry not sorry by Demi Lovato

  • For this song, I thought of Mare Barrow from the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard, she’s treated like a trophy after the Silvers discovered she is a red blood, but has silver abilities and they parade her around like a doll.
  • But more to that, this song represents her in the 3rd book, after she’s experienced all the trauma and pain, it tells us all that- She can no longer be controlled by them, and she’s not sorry for that

3. Promise me no promises by Cheat codes ft. Demi Lovato

  • Can I first mention how much I’m hooked on this song right now? And the music video looks lit😍 (Okay, If the music video has any dystopic elements, I LOVE it)
  • For this song, I thought of the Crewel world series by Gennifer Albin, I just read the first book and just felt that the book was really suitable for this song

“Oh na na, Just be careful, na na”

“Love ain’t simple, na na”

“Promise me no promises”

  • The people around Adeline keep expecting her to go with the norm now that she’s the next Creweller. And now that she has escaped to earth with Erik and Jost, she can’t promise anything
  • But I think this song is more fitting for the relationship between Jost and Adeline, where they promise each other no promises, because they themselves have no idea how this will turn out

4. Crying in the club by Camila Cabello

  • This song, I have never heard it before, I just randomly picked it in the youtube suggestion side bar from the previous song’s video
  • The moment I heard the first line of the song, I immediately thought about The lovely reckless by Kami Garcia
  • The entire song also shows the protagonist, Frankie’s character arc when she goes from a crying mess into a girl who’s reckless and no longer crying in the club

5. Rock bottom by Hailee Steinfield ft. DNCE

  • I really liked this song since I listened to it awhile back, by re-listening to this song, I immediately knew what book that fit it
  • The Shatter me series by Tahereh Mafi, especially the relationship between Juliet and Warner. Its a love hate battle between the two of them until the final book

 

Feel free to try out this tag and let me know you’ve done it and I’ll check it out! Hope you liked my song choices and their respective book choices along with it! Have a great day😉

 

A letter to my Best Friend

Well, I’ve had many cliques of friends over the past few years, but none of them lasted.

I was hanging out with my friend from secondary school today, we’ve known each other for 8 years and we hang out quite regularly and she loves the library too.

She’s attending university soon and one thing she said today made me realize what I really needed in a friend.

She said ” Why aren’t you in uni, I want you to be in uni too.”

I desperately wanted to go to the university too, but her saying that sentence made me felt like I belong and I understood how come ONLY this friendship withstood the test of time unlike the rest.

Around this best friend (my one and only best friend and friend 😂 If you’re toxic, the door’s that way 😉) I never have to feel like I don’t belong or that I have to wear my mask around her. Around everyone else, I did. Everyone who met me, met the mask I was wearing, the one that seemed so calm and composed and stoic, but around her, I don’t even need that mask.

Last and this year were years that I cut off all my ties with the toxic people in my life, friends who claimed that they were friends but stabbed me in the back, an ex that kept coming back and still mentally hurt me like before.

So if you ask me whether I’m happier now, I would definitely say I am. Even though every day is a battle with depression and anxiety, and even stepping out of my house scares me, I am happy.

Like I said in one of my reviews (I think it was The Lovely Reckless), when you have depression, you only need ONE, at least one person to care about you even if you don’t feel like it. That ONE person will get you through even if they don’t know that they’re saving you just by caring.

So even though I have said this many times to her, I am really thankful that I never need to wear my INFJ mask around her and that I can finally feel like I belong around her.

Thank you😃

#famous by Jilly Gagnon

“Rachel, high school is exactly like a medieval court. Just without swords.”

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 3.38.14 pm.png

Title: #famous

Author: Jilly Gagnon

#famous

Recommended to fans of: 13 reasons why, Cinder & Ella, One Paris Summer, Mean girls (Movie)

Series: –

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Format: Hardcover

Genre: Romance, YA, Contemporary

Rating: 5/5

[Synopsis] (Taken from goodreads)

In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

(Thoughts) (DISCLAIMER:This is my opinion only, may contain spoilers for the book, may contain coarse language)

  • I think having the messages in the book was a really cute and creative idea
  • OMG, Rachel trying to get a photo of Kyle and him measuring her hand was so cute
  • Now Kyle is famous because of a hashtag, #idlikefrieswithTHAT
  • The book is seemingly sweet, but addresses issues like social media addiction and cyber-bullying
  • I don’t understand what Kyle likes about Emma
  • And with one random incident, we see how two people’s lives are changed forever
  • To be honest, I think that Kyle is liking the fame game too much, its growing on him
  • The story was a easy and light read
  • This story was inspired by Alex from Target, with the bullying as well
  • A french fries bouquet? Talk about a millennial approach to a girl’s heart
  • I don’t know, the media playing on the story of it and taking it so far until getting Kyle to ask Rachel to homecoming even though he doesn’t like her and has a girlfriend?
  • And now he’s girlfriend is upset too. I mean I don’t like Emma, but I respect that she’s Kyle’s girlfriend (Even though they are quite on and off)
  • This book makes me crave french fries (Am I the only one?)
  • At first I really couldn’t see the romance, but by half the book I could see the potential
  • The sudden kiss and development of the story was cute
  • I was thankful the bullying stopped and a lot of people like Rachel now
  • Emma just treats Kyle like a dog, at her beck and call and she’s being such a “mean girl”
  • Its a really cute read, characters were relatable and the story was well structured and flows smoothly
  • OMG, the author plays the violin too

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts and opinions? Leave a comment down below! 🙂